Cat versus 15 inches of snow – a photo essay


(This post originally appeared on my old Open Salon blog on April 2, 2009)

Hey!  Who put this crap on my deck?!

You may have heard about the dumping of spring snow we got here in Denver last week.  I’m happy to report that most of it is already gone, in true Colorado fashion.  It was a load of snow and havoc on the roads one day and two days later, temperatures in the 50s and the white stuff is almost gone.

No one, however, is more happy to say goodbye to the snow than Beeker.

You may remember a piece I wrote about how much Beeker loves to spend time on our deck.  It’s his chance to get outside and enjoy some fresh air without worrying about him wandering around the neighborhood to become a fox or coyote canapé.  We went out to Seattle during Spring Break and Beeker was desperate to get outside after being stuck inside for a week.

He did see the snow from inside.  I guess that he just didn’t understand that if the snow is over your head, it might just be a good idea to stay inside.

Oh well.  Sometimes, you have to learn the hard way.

Okay. Enough stalling.  Time to get out.
Alright.  Time to get outside.


Well, it's snow.  But at least it's stepped down on snow.
It’s snow.  But at least it’s stepped down on snow.

I'll just walk over to the other side....
I’ll just walk over to the other side here….

Wait...where's the bottom?
Wait….where’s the bottom of this thing?!?

Whew.  Made it to dry ground.
Whew.  Made it to dry ground. Let me check the other side.  The deck’s gotta be around here somewhere.

Dammit.  There's snow here too.
Dammit.  There’s snow here too.


Hey, kid.  Help me clear this snow off, will ya?
Hey, kid.  Help me clear this snow off, will ya?
Well, I'm glad you think this is funny.
Well, I’m glad you think this is funny.  I ain’t laughin’.

I think it's time to head inside.
I’ve had enough.  I think it’s time to head inside.

Uh, hey?  Little help here please?
Uh, hey?  Little help here please?

Oh no!  I keep slipping!
Oh no!  Can’t. Get. Grip!

Oh crap.
Oh crap.

Whew.  Thought I was a goner there.
Whew.  Thought I was a goner there for a moment.

Gonzo -
Gonzo – I’m nice and warm in here.  What do you think you’re doing out there?
Beeker – I’m not sure anymore.  I won’t be doing that again though.

Leave a Reply

